head gasket failure - cause and prevention

im no car expert so first question is, what is a head gasket and what does it do?

i suspect that its gone in my gen5 so now im wondering, what causes a failure? is it just wear and tear, one of those things. do they have a service schedule?

also wondering, if i missed any symptoms that could have led me to realise, as i suspect that the HG went first and caused the radiator to pop, rather than the other way round, i maybe drove 2 miles before i noticed the temp had maxed and stopped, and surely if it was just the radiator going pop, it wouldnt do that much damage in such a short time, and also the radiator was replaced with a new one, just over a year ago.

also wondering, in future, is there any advice on preventing it happening again whether that be in this car or a new one. ive heard about replacing with metal ones?

The head gasket sits between the block and the cylinder head, its to ensure max. compression and to help stop leaks of oil / coolant into the cylinders.

Some symptoms are white smoke on starting up and also can have crud in the oil filler cap (not always though). When it fails the oil / coolant gets where it shouldn't.

Not sure about the other questions ... I hope that helps and someone more knowledgeable will answer the rest / correct me

The head gasket (HG) is gasket that sits between the cylinder head and the block.

On the Gen 5s they are made from a fabric material, both mating surfaces have to be dead flat, can't remember the tolerance of the top of my head. They are not something that can be serviced and the reasons they fail can vary, the most common is over heating caused by another problem causing the aluminium cylinder head to wrap and distort, this breaks the seal between the head and the block so allowing the cylinder pressures to escape into the coolant or oil systems.